The Jhohadli Summer Youth Writing Project- in their own words – Part 1

So, the deed is done; the Jhohadli Summer Youth Writing Project (August 12th to 16th 2013) has come and gone. I asked the participants (14 young people aged between 9 and 19) to evaluate and this is what they said.

Q. Why did you apply to the JSYWP?

“because I really like to write”

DSC04104

“because I wanted to further my knowledge about writing”
“to become a better writer, reader and listener”
“I’ve been slacking off on my writing and this got me on track”
“To improve on my spelling and reading”
To learn more big words and to better my writing skills”
“I enjoy writing( poetry especially ) and I wanted help to enhance my writing and (to get) feedback on my writing.”
“I participated in this camp to assist me in becoming more confident with my writing and to revitalize the passion in me for writing. Also to find ways to inspire creative writing and find a way to write historical facts in a way to interest young people.”

DSC04137

Of course there were some “Because my mom made me” or “Because my dad told me I had to go”; or even better a combo of the two:
“Because I wanted to improve my writing and because my parents forced me to”.

But mostly there was “To get better at my reading and writing and to understand more about writing a book and to have fun on the way”.

group by Joanne C Hillhouse

*Tuition sponsors of the JSYWP were: Anonymous, Brenda Lee Browne, Caribbean Water Treatment, Dr. Jillia Bird, Paperclips, Sanhall Trademarks Ltd., Shirley Heights Lookout, and Townhouse Mega Store.

*The following also provided patronage and/or assistance: The Best of Books, Koren Norton, Charmaine Thomas, Silston Library, St. John’s Cooperative Credit Union, Carol Mitchell, and Marie Elena John.

Leave a Reply

