The Jhohadli Summer Youth Writing Project – in their own words – Part 2

So, the deed is done; the Jhohadli Summer Youth Writing Project (August 12th to 16th 2013) has come and gone. I asked the participants (14 young people aged between 9 and 19) to evaluate and this is what they said.

Q. What did you gain from the JSYWP?

“Better writing skills”
“You can make a story out of everything”Chammaiah and Terique by Joanne C Hillhouse
“An understanding of the different ways to write and that your dialogue should match your character”
“I think that all the advice you gave me really helped me to write better stories”
“how to write stories properly”
“I gained a lot of tips in writing to make it more realistic”
“More big words and I also got a lot of healthy criticism to better my writing skills”
“I learned a lot from this camp. I can honestly say that my writing has improved from this experience and because of it I’m sure I will get better. Highlight of my summer.”
“I definitely gained more confidence in my writing and extra knowledge on writing stories, books, etc.”

Keondre and Raeanna by Joanne C Hillhouse

Keondre by Kurne

me with Aaliyah by Kurne

listening by Kurne

“I gained courage to share my work with others, I learned to look beyond/deeper than what’s on the surface and to show the readers rather than telling them, which makes the piece much more interesting. I also learned that detail is very
important.”

*additional photos by Kurne Williams for the Silston Library.

*Tuition sponsors of the JSYWP were: Anonymous, Brenda Lee Browne, Caribbean Water Treatment, Dr. Jillia Bird, Paperclips, Sanhall Trademarks Ltd., Shirley Heights Lookout, and Townhouse Mega Store.

*The following also provided patronage and/or assistance: The Best of Books, Koren Norton, Charmaine Thomas, Silston Library, St. John’s Cooperative Credit Union, Carol Mitchell, and Marie Elena John.

One thought on “The Jhohadli Summer Youth Writing Project – in their own words – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Guilty by Chammaiah Ambrose | Wadadli Pen

Leave a Reply

