Wadadli Pen Turning 10

So my major non-profit activity is something I actually wouldn’t mind having the werewithal to do and develop full time; some days it already feels like a full time job. The Wadadli Youth Pen Prize (http://wadadlipen.wordpress.com) can be time-consuming but I’m grateful to all the patrons and partners for helping to lighten the load. I’m also grateful for notes like this facebook note from Lia Nicholson (the second placed writer in the first year of the annual Wadadli Pen Challenge for her story Tekin Ahn Dey!):

“Thank you Joanne for all your hard work over the years to inspire young writers and give confidence in creativity. The extent of my writing these days is limited to academic work as I study for my master’s, but I did get one blog up earlier this year: http://environment.yale.edu/envirocenter/wearing-two-hats-reflections-on-the-role-of-small-islands-at-cop-18-in/. Count me in for celebrating the 10-year anniversary of the Wadadli Pen Challenge next year! It is a great asset to Antigua & Barbuda.”

This is the photo call for the first season of Wadadli Pen. Lia's actually not in this picture (she was a high school student in Vermont at the time) but that's her mom standing second from right.

This is the photo call for the first season of Wadadli Pen. Lia’s actually not in this picture (she was a high school student in Vermont at the time) but that’s her mom standing second from right.

As I said in response, writing is writing, and I’m glad that Lia is still hitting it for six; I’m also thankful for her and all the young writers who shared their writing because as a writer myself I know it’s not easy. And you know I reached out to see how she could come celebrate with us, right?

If you want to support Wadadli Pen in anyway, contact wadadlipen@yahoo.com

2 thoughts on “Wadadli Pen Turning 10

  1. Pingback: Congrats, Lia | Wadadli Pen

  2. Pingback: Thank You…and maybe you, too? | Wadadli Pen

Leave a Reply

