Why I decided to Self-Publish my first book…

UPDATE! You can order and read Shakirah’s book here.

An inspiring Caribbean literary sistren (love her work, her vibe, and her energy – though we’ve never met) takes a bold step. Already enjoy her writing; can’t wait to read.

getWrite!

Earlier this month I announced that I was going to publish a collection of short stories called “In Time of Need” and I received a lot of private messages asking me if I had found a publisher for my stories.

I had decided not to even approach a traditional publisher for this collection, and I must admit it was a decision that caused a lot of cognitive dissonance for me.

You see, although you read countless stories of successful self-published authors (and I know some personally), I still had that subconscious nagging idea that to be a “real author” you needed to be validated by an authentic publishing house. In fact, it was this nagging ideology that postponed the publishing date of this collection because I have had these stories wasting away on my computer for a very long time. Every now and again I would submit them to competitions…

View original post 1,495 more words

Leave a Reply

