Taking a Moment

So, I’ve been a little wired lately…wired and tired, it’s a weird and unpleasant combo…throw in disconnected and you’ve got…well, I don’t know what you’ve got but it wasn’t good..at it’s mildest it’s making me snappish (because I really, really need to sleep…sleep and a clone to pick up the slack while I sleep), at it’s worst it’s making me depressed, like big picture depressed. Anyway, today, I had a meltdown but I also had a few pick me ups.

Pick me up one…smack in the middle of the day, I decided to stop, and to calm myself found myself flipping through St. Lucian artist Donna Grandin’s blog. Donna has set herself a 30 paintings in 30 days challenge. Insane, right? Well, she saved my sanity today with her calming nature images…and, music in the background, I even found myself getting sucked into her daily blog on the back story behind the images and the process of creating them…and found a lot to relate to in her challenges and triumphs as she made space for her art in her life; her perspectives on how she sees herself as an artist and how she creates were as energizing as the art work was calming. As I posted in a note to her, her art space became my day’s happy space…and I’ve bookmarked it because when you find your happy space you really should visit it as often as you need to.  Sometimes, deadlines notwithstanding you’ve got to take some time to slow your brain down, take some time to just be. Which leads me to…

Pick me up two…which really was a timely reminder from an angel (I call her that because she heard my unspoken distress and reached out to say, are you okay)…in the midst of feeling the press of demands and deadlines, and the squuuueeeeeeeze of others’ even well meaning expectations, being expected to give more when you’re pretty much tapped out, making yourself sick, taking that pressure and obligation on to yourself, she said to me, essentially, do your best and leave the rest. It’s not something I haven’t heard before or won’t need to hear again but it mattered that she heard that I needed to hear it just then. Everybody’s going through their ups and downs and pressures, of course, but sometimes we can feel so alone in our own chaos; it’s nice to be reminded that we’re not. And so…

Pick me up three…I’ve been roping past finalists into sharing their Wadadli Pen experience as a way of motivating others to participate. Wadadli Pen you’ll remember is the programme I run to encourage young Antiguans and Barbudan to create. At the start of the month, three of them made the media rounds to promote the programme and I was pleasantly surprised by what they had to say about how Wadadli Pen helped them – such as the one who said she used her entry as her college essay and is now in the Ivy league. One though who ducked out of the media appearances and out of other voluntary activity as she was considering taking up the  2014 Challenge, wrote a testimonial which she sent to me today with permission to share with the media about what Wadadli Pen meant to her…and when she essentially declared that Wadadli Pen helped her find her voice,  let’s just say, she summed up the motivation at the heart of this time-sucking project and reassured me that the effort is not in vain.

So, I’m still tired…but maybe not as wired; chalk it up to all of the above…and to the fact that when my day was at its worst, there was the open road, my two legs, and music… in other words, I took a moment.

2 thoughts on “Taking a Moment

  1. Hello,

    I’m an editor of an educational publication called CultureGrams, which is seeking someone with experience in Antigua and Barbuda for a paid project. I’m hoping that you might be interested in it or could refer me to someone who would be.

    CultureGrams is a series of more than 200 country-specific reports that describe people’s daily life and culture. The audience consists primarily of North American students and educators.

    We are currently seeking someone to help us expand our preexisting Antigua and Barbuda report. This person would provide additional content in seven categories, writing two to three substantive paragraphs (roughly 350 words total) for each category. Contributors receive a one-time payment of $250.

    No professional writing experience is required. We ask only that reviewers be current or recent residents of the country (preferably a native of the country with at least 2.5 years of full-time residency in the last 4 years), have a college degree (or equivalent education), fluently speak the country’s official language or a major national language, and have had experience in more than one region of the country and with people of different socioeconomic levels.

    I’d be grateful if you could let me know of anyone who might be interested in this project. Applicants should email me their CV and a brief description of how they meet the above qualifications. More information on CultureGrams is available at http://www.culturegrams.com.

    Sincerely,

    Rachel
    Rachel.Ligairi@proquest.com

Leave a Reply

