Found Thoughts

I just came across some musings written during my time in Scotland earlier this year (where I was invited by the Commonwealth to be a part of the Aye Write! festival). It was a blog in progress written while I was still there (apparently) and then filed away to the forgotten pile (to be rediscovered all these months later). I won’t share the whole thing, just a couple of excerpts…

…like this, about the location…

“Glasgow is cold. Or as I emailed a friend my first night here cowl ah raas.

Bracing wind and razor sharp rain aside, I like it here. The people are friendly and helpful, much more than you’d expect in a city, and their character gives the city a small space (almost said small island) feel. A feel aided by how quiet it is here at night and how it wakes up slowly, sounds filtering in as the night lightens to morning. Other things are familiar, like the black pudding that looks and tastes remarkably like our rice pudding.”

…this about libraries…

mitchell library

“Our chat was held at the Mitchelll Library which combined with the meltdown in my newsfeed around the ‘soft opening’ of our own national library at home, Antigua, had me thinking about libraries and what those spaces, books stacked taller than any human, many older than anyone living, spaces of gentle touches and sushed adoration, where learning is celebrated say about societies who we have been, are, want to be, what we value, what we choose to remember and to build on. Our panel reminded me as well that libraries are living spaces where ideas foment and futures are contemplated.”

…this about Amelia…and stories…

“I read from my story Amelia, a part of me not quite believing how far we’d both travelled, this tragic girl’s and my fictionalization of her life, and me, the girl from Ottos, Antigua, who continues to write stories of home. I made cocktail party small talk with audience members afterwards and they expressed appreciation for the story, reinforcing that the particular can be universal if the reader is open; something I learned as a young reader, myself, growing up in a reality where so much of the printed or recorded stories came from other places.”

…this on the journeying…

“I’m told you eventually get burned out on these trips but I haven’t had enough invitations or opportunities to be there yet. As I have Bocas and Pen also this month, it has got me a bit turned around trying to step into those things while stay on top of everything that constitutes my real life. It’s still a rare thrill to be in a space where people engage with me as a writer, with respect and interest in the whole writing thing in a way that suggests that what we’re doing as writers matters; it feels like the kind of thing I’d love to do as often as time – and the demands and pull of real life – allows.”

My panel at the Aye Write! festival. From left Gemma Robinson, me, Ivory Kelly, and Martin McIntyre. Gemma is a professor and was our facilitator, Ivory is a writer from Belize and Martin's a writer from Scotland.

My panel at the Aye Write! festival. From left Gemma Robinson, me, Ivory Kelly, and Martin McIntyre. Gemma is a professor and was our facilitator, Ivory is a writer from Belize and Martin’s a writer from Scotland.

Leave a Reply

