Premio Dardos

It’s a banner day, literally…and figuratively. Literally, because, see this image Dardos1(image, banner, po(tay)to, po(tah)to), it means my Jhohadli blog (this blog right here) has been nominated for the Premio Dardos award, an award meant to acknowledge bloggers’ efforts to transmit cultural, ethical, literary and personal value, promote fraternization between bloggers, and show affection and appreciation for blogs adding value to the web. Why, THANKS, REBIRTH OF LISA. It’s also a banner day because this blog has never been nominated for anything before. *Sally Field voice* “you like me! You (really) like me!” LOL.

In all seriousness, it’s always a little bit mind-blowing when I’m reminded that people actually read these ramblings. Sitting at home in front of your computer, it’s easy to forget that. And sometimes, I’m still trying to figure out what I’m doing with this blog which is principally about my journeying as a writer and all that that entails. You see the challenge, ALL is pretty broad. I have so much more clarity with the Wadadli Pen blog which is first and foremost a platform for Wadadli Pen (the writing programme I launched in 2004 to nurture and showcase the literary arts in Antigua and Barbuda). Everything it does is an extension of that; it’s much more tightly focussed.

I didn’t think I’d like blogging. But I’m getting the hang of it. I continue to try to strike a balance between promoting my books and services, keeping readers updated about my activities (such as my current effort to crowdfund this summer’s Jhohadli Summer Youth Writing Project), discussing my process, sharing my high (and low) lights as a writer, experimenting, and just having fun with it.

Thanks for all who continue to come by, comment, like, or lurk.

And now my nominees (wow, 15? Okay, here goes):

Handbags and Chocolate
Dat Bwoi for Jackie
Seawoman’s Caribbean Writing Opps.
Womanlution: Inside the Mind of Alexandra Caselle
The Wandering Bookmark
Chattinatti
The Next Chapter
Lia Nicholson
ph.d. in Creative Writing
Grab the Lapels
Bak2moi
Antigua A La Carte
Tastes like Home
Black Black and Beautiful
Red for Gender

Whew, that took some doing! Why didn’t anybody warn me? LOL. Glad I could tag some of the blogs I enjoy though (so you can discover and like them, too); so it’s all good.

8 thoughts on “Premio Dardos

  1. Thanks so much for nominating my blog! Congrats also on your nomination and to the other bloggers as well! I’ll be checking out the bloggers who’re new to me soon.
    Cheers!

  2. Thanks so much for the nomination and for doing the hard work for me. I appreciate being pointed in the direction of good local bloggers.

Leave a Reply

