Anguilla Lit Fest …more Moments…mini-photo-essays

Yes, one more Anguilla picture post. After this and this. Don’t blame me. These showed up in my facebook news feed …they really didn’t leave me any choice but to share them with you-all, did they?

Here I am arriving at the very first event, a welcome reception...

Here I am arriving at the very first event, a welcome reception…

Lovely view.

Lovely view.

Same event...poet J. Ivy, his wife, and, like, my arm.

Same event…poet J. Ivy, his wife, and, like, my arm.

...and here in the back of somebodies else's shot...chatting...and in the spirit of cocktail parties everywhere ever not remembering about what.

…and here in the back of somebodies else’s shot…chatting…and in the spirit of cocktail parties everywhere ever not remembering about what.

Introductions

Introductions

Every time I look at this now, I'll remember the photographer snapping at me to put my hand down... hey, Mr. Photographer-man, my hand, my choice.

Every time I look at this now, I’ll remember the photographer snapping at me to put my hand down… hey, Mr. Photographer-man, my hand, my choice.

Here it is, the akimbo-less version of that shot, as it appeared in the Anguillan. Writers all, felt good to be in such good company.

Here it is, the akimbo-less version of that shot, as it appeared in the Anguillan. Writers all, felt good to be in such good company.

Here I am chatting with Elizabeth Nunez. I was happy to see her and to be able to thank her in person for recommending Oh Gad! on NPR in 2014 and for adding it to her course on Caribbean Women Writers at Hunter College just because she liked it. We chatted some about the book - what she liked, what she didn't; and also about publishing - what works, what doesn't. Still learning; still grateful.

Here I am chatting with Elizabeth Nunez. I was happy to see her and to be able to thank her in person for recommending Oh Gad! on NPR in 2014 and for adding it to her course on Caribbean Women Writers at Hunter College just because she liked it. We chatted some about the book – what she liked, what she didn’t; and also about publishing – what works, what doesn’t. Still learning; still grateful.

Sitting in the audience during one of the breakfast sessions...or was it lunch? Anyway, something was happening on the stage...and, at some point, there was food.

Sitting in the audience during one of the breakfast sessions…or was it lunch? Anyway, something was happening on the stage…and, at some point, there was food.

After library reading photo op with library staff, other authors, Lit fest folks, and one of the students who came out to hear us read.

After library reading photo op with library staff, other authors, Lit fest folks, and one of the students who came out to hear us read.

...during the library reading... clearly I'm feeling J. Ivy's presentation. Wonder what he was saying there.

…during the library reading… clearly I’m feeling J. Ivy’s presentation. Wonder what he was saying there.

Me...saying words...

Me…saying words…

My panel. When I saw Rhoda, to my right, a week or so later at the St. Martin Book Fair, it was like running into an old friend.

My panel. When I saw Rhoda, to my right, a week or so later at the St. Martin Book Fair, it was like running into an old friend.

panel

I was hanging with a friend at the poolside cocktail thingee when these two girls approached me - one a spelling bee champ and avid reader, the other a mini-critic in the making...yes, she had her views on Musical Youth and The Boy from Willow Bend...both avid readers and budding writers. Was a joy to meet them. That book they're holding up, it's by the friend I was hanging with Barbara...don't ask me why I'm in the picture and not her. Life's mysteries.

I was hanging with a friend at the poolside cocktail thingee when these two girls approached me – one a spelling bee champ and avid reader, the other a mini-critic in the making…yes, she had her views on Musical Youth and The Boy from Willow Bend…both avid readers and budding writers. Was a joy to meet them. That book they’re holding up, it’s by the friend I was hanging with Barbara…don’t ask me why I’m in the picture and not her. Life’s mysteries.

Oh there she is.

Oh there she is. FYI, the book is The Legend of Bat’s Cave and Other Stories.

About two seconds before this session was supposed to start, Yona, to my left says, so how do you want to do this...this, my friends, would be the very definition of winging it...we had a good session, proving that sometimes flying by the seat of your pants actually works.

About two seconds before this session was supposed to start, Yona, to my left says, so how do you want to do this…this, my friends, would be the very definition of winging it…we had a good session, proving that sometimes flying by the seat of your pants actually works.

from the Anguillan

Leave a Reply

