Teach, Do

“My name is Joanne C. Hillhouse. I love to write. I write and edit professionally for companies. I believe I can help other professionals become more comfortable with written communication.”

I began a new journey tonight, a course on written communication for non-writers. I asked participants to write who they were, why they were there, what they hoped to accomplish; then, while they wrote, I did, too – the view from the other side.

Where will this go? How well will it go? I don’t know. This freelancing life, this writing life, this publishing journey is rife with uncertainty (books underperform or go out of print, promising pitches languish in limbo or go forward only to burn on the back end). But, as I’ve asked them to do, I’ll be using my written introduction to orient myself – to remind myself that all I’m challenged to do is teach what I know, help them to grow in their confidence with the written word, and try to  infect the process with some of that passion I feel for writing.

We’ve begun; that is all I know for sure.

The first step is the hardest, they say. Well, here’s another cliché, keep putting one foot in front of the other.

Will do.

 

 

Leave a Reply

