With Grace Launches This Week In Antigua

The headline says it all. With Grace launches (in Antigua at least, for now; but soon to be available in the wider Caribbean and internationally) on Wednesday 21st December 2016, 6 p.m., at the Best of Books on St. Mary’s Street, Antigua.

It took some doing to get them here before Christmas, but Little Bell Caribbean, publisher of With Grace, pushed to do just that.

The Best of Books bookstore has hosted each of my launches through the years beginning with The Boy from Willow Bend (back when the launch amounted to a signing table set up at the book shop entrance at its then location in the Benjies/British American mall) atboyfromwillowbendlaunchto the Dancing Nude launch (moved indoors for this one) a year later dancingnudebooksigning5, to eight years later and the launch of Oh Gad! my attempt to mix things up with a midnight launch at the Best of Books Friars Hill Road branchlaunch-photo-eustace-samuel; my next book – the picture book Fish Outta Water didn’t get a launch (but more news to come on that soon; listen out); reading-me-2then there was Musical Youth launched on a rainy  evening at the St. Mary’s Street location where I’ll return this Wednesday 21st December for the launch of my sixth book, second children’s picture book, and first fairytale.

To say this journey has been surreal would be an understatement. To say each of these launch activities has been a blur would be #facts With Willow Bend, I didn’t know what to expect, didn’t know if anyone would come, and pretty much stood there and smiled and tried to be charming when people (mostly friends) came through. With Dancing, I was nervous because I had to read and because there were, amidst a pretty strong showing from my family and friends, people who were there just because they were readers looking for a good book (yikes). With Oh Gad! I was anxious because best laid plans and all that but there was wine and cake and, though Antiguans proved they’re not in to this midnight launch business, some who turned out like the late Marcus Christopher (a calypso writer whose music I would have grown up listening to) were a nice surprise and guess which picture made the paper observer-launch-coverage– nicer still, the personal call he made when he’d finished reading to tell me what he thought of the book. I remember feeling heady at the Musical Youth launch – there was so much going on then and I was so excited and all the usual nerves but also somewhat disconnected.

For a writer, a launch is and is and is not purely a celebration of an accomplishment; it’s also about sales and promotion – performing, and the success is not just the book you hold in your hand but did the media come out, will you get some good buzz from the event, how will the book perform. Six books in, still not on any one’s bestseller list but heartfully thankful for reader response to and support of my books to date, I want to try just enjoying this one.

Tall order – right now I’m in promotion mode, trying to make sure people know about the book and the launch (purpose of this post)- but on that night, I’m aiming to be so present, so joyful, so in my skin that none of it feels like performance, that all of it feels real.

If I never get a chance to write another book, I want to enjoy not just the launch of With Grace but that I’ve been fortunate to be a writer, to write these books; and the launch of a book about Grace seems a good time to bask in the gratitude I feel to live doing what I do, even on the roughest days of this journeying in the Writing Life. Give thanks for all the readers, for every publisher that made an investment in me, for the friendships and familial bonds that have strengthened and challenged me, for the ones who are always there for me, for all of the booksellers who have stocked my books and Best of Books for hosting me through six launches, for the ones who encourage and appreciate the effort, for God who blessed me with this talent, for every teacher who has helped me build the skill needed to become better and better and more confident in honing that talent. Whatever happens, I can’t say I didn’t get a chance to, didn’t claim my dream to be a writer. Am I tired right now? Yes…but I’m a tired writer. And that’s all I’ve ever wanted to be (definitely with a different adjective in front of writer).

With Grace is a fairytale and something about writing one of those has brought out my inner child, hopeful that it will fire the imagination of young readers as the fairytales I was exposed to as a child fired my imagination.

So, Wednesday, at 6…look forward to adding new pictures to the book launch collection, but, more than that, hope to relax and feel every moment joyfully in my bones. Hope you will come out if you can.

Media and bloggers, you can make use of the links below from the promotional package I’ve put together about the book, my other books, and me. I appreciate any and all courtesies, you have extended in the past and will again in future as I try to ripple the water; I don’t expect any of it as a right nor do I take any of it for granted.

about-the-book
about-joanne-c-hillhouses-other-books
about-joanne-c-hillhouse
with_grace
with_grace-a-peek-inside

author-photo-2011-by-emile-hill

 

 

4 thoughts on “With Grace Launches This Week In Antigua

  1. The best picture remains the last one with you leaning out a window meditative and engaging at the same time… I can’t be there on Wednesday, being here in Paris, but I will be there in thought. Trying to follow all this energy and creativity! Victoria

    Envoyé de mon iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

