Shelved

So, as a #gyalfromOttosAntigua who, growing up, didn’t have much in the way of a book buying budget (of the non-text-book variety, many of those second hand), I understand that purchasing my books from the bookstore

books-on-a-shelf

My books on the shelves of local bookstore The Best of Books.

may not be in everyone’s budget. It’s why I try to make sure I get the word out to as many libraries as I can in Antigua, in the Caribbean, in America, in Europe, wherever there are libraries, whenever I drop a new book. Books were meant to be read. I have also made a point of donating copies of most if not all of my books (as little as two of The Boy from Willow Bend, Dancing Nude in the Moonlight, and Oh Gad! to 15 copies of Musical Youth, 9 of which were on loan to a local book club I was told last time I checked) to the Antigua and Barbuda Public Library.

 

I notice the children’s books (Fish Outta Water and With Grace) are not accounted for and I’ll need to rectify that as soon as I’m able – unless they buy them first.

So, anyway, this is just a reminder that in answer to the question where can I get your books, libraries is also a very good answer – and as with your local bookstore, if your local library doesn’t have a book you want, ask about it; your interest can help fuel demand by putting it on their radar as something their clients are interested in reading.

Re the local library, if you’ve read my writing (on the blog, in the local papers) over the years, you know the discontent over the slow progress on rebuilding after the 1974 earthquake (which means that, though the library did soldier on in less than ideal circumstances) many of us in Antigua and Barbuda grew up without a real understanding of the full scope of a library and the central role it can play in society – even now in the digital age. The Antigua and Barbuda Public Library has had its new building for a couple of years now, but some things (lending, opening hours, community interaction) have followed incrementally. In fact, the library (while it still has no weekend hours) has announced later weekday opening hours, which is good. The more we expect of and interact with and support the library, perhaps we can count on even more movement.

FYI, the hours of operation of the Antigua and Barbuda Public Library are:

Mondays to Thursdays 9am – 7 pm and Fridays 9am – 5:30 pm.

The library is now lending books to the community. Borrowers are asked to present a valid ID such as driver’s license, passport, voter ID, Social Security, Medical Benefits card, or school ID. For further information, contact the library at 562-4502/3.

FYI, re purchasing my books, here’s a partial list of where you can get them and if they’re not in your market here’s an about page re my books that you can share with your local libraries and bookstores. Thanks.

 

Leave a Reply

